Why do they hide the bike rack?

I needed to go to the library today to pick up this month’s book for my book group (we’re reading The Shipping News by Annie Proulx, my pick) and so decided to take the bike instead of the car. I decided to go to the main library instead of the one near my house as it’s larger and I figured I had a better chance of getting the book there. It’s amazing that even after all the riding I’ve done I still get nervous before heading out on the bike. This ride involved having to cross traffic from the bike lane to get into a left-turn lane, which I’ve done even in rush-hour traffic but for some reason this intersection scared me more. It went fine, I got across the lane and ended up at the first position, as if there was a bike box in front (which of course there’s not out here in the ‘burbs), light changed, and away we all went.

I did get up onto the sidewalk for the last bit of the ride. The road that the library is on is a divided highway essentially, two lanes each way, and almost no shoulder of any kind. Needless to say, no room for a bike lane and at the speed people drive on that road, I thought that lovely wide empty sidewalk looked very inviting. So I arrived at the library, and was dismayed and surprised not to see any sort of bike rack. This puzzled me exceedingly, I thought sure they would have thought to include one at this new facility (the building has been there for a long time, but was vacant for many years until the library took it over a few short years ago). I ended up locking up to a metal memorial bench outside the front entrance.

Then, I was disappointed that they did not have a copy of the book. :::frown::: I checked the computer system, and lo and behold, there was a copy of it — at the library branch that’s like two blocks from my house. I’m such a dork. But, it was such a pretty fall day that I really wanted to go for the ride anyway, and I picked up a couple of movies that I’ve wanted to see: Dancing at Lughnasa and Dracula: The Satanic Rites. Yeah, I know, but I’m immersed in vamps these days while writing my vampire novel, and I just love Christopher Lee so I had to get it.

So after I got my movies checked out, I asked the guy at the counter about a bike rack. His response was something along the line of “I think it’s down the other end of the parking lot, towards the back.” Swell. After I went back out and got my bike, I walked to the far end of the building and sure enough, towards the back is a bike rack. Well, as I said, this place was built long before the library took it over so they probably didn’t have much choice about where to place it. At least there is one. I rode back home, and had only one near miss almost getting right-hooked on another busy street, but both the driver and I stopped and he let me go.  I did manage to get the back of my leg with the sprocket thereby giving myself a grease tattoo and cutting myself, though, when I stopped so abruptly.

Round trip it was about nine miles. Not much, but I’ve done so little riding this year, anything is better than nothing.  And now I know where the bike rack is!

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting, biking safety, suburban living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

