Another week, another ride

I hate going a whole week between rides, but this past week was so hot I could not bring myself to get out there. Finally the heat broke on Saturday, and with a pleasantly warm morning, I rode my bike over to the Post Office to pick up a parcel. It’s a short ride, maybe 3 miles round-trip, so I couldn’t be bothered firing up the car for something like that. To no one’s surprise, there are no bike racks outside the Post Office (this is a separate annex where they keep packages requiring signature if you’re not home when they try to deliver). So I did what any self-respecting bicycle lover would do: took it inside the building with me. Yep, I did. No big deal really, it’s just an ugly lobby where you ring the bell and someone comes out of the back to get your stuff. A young family with children in a stroller came in as I was there, and I did get kind of a strange look from the woman. :::shrug:::

Anyway, the weather was so fabulous I decided I really did need to go out for a real ride, so I went home, dropped off the panier and excess stuff, changed and went back out. This time I took a slightly longer route, but opposite of the direction I rode last week. The result was it took me almost exactly one hour. Hmm. Not sure if the change of direction made that much of a difference from last week, when it took me an hour and 15 minutes, or wind at my back or what. Maybe the muscles are quicker at remembering than I gave them credit for. It was a great ride, with a couple of stops for water (still a little klutzy about getting the bottle back in the holder while riding, I dropped it once and had to turn around and go back for it). I also wasn’t nearly as wiped out when I got home. Good to know I’m not quite dead yet.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, Green Living, suburban living and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another week, another ride

  1. What are the health benefits of bicycling?

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Hi brittany,

    In alphabetical order?

    The health benefits are almost too numerous to list, but here are a few:

    Increased strength, and strong muscles can help prevent injuries, and a number of illnesses, including osteoporosis (which becomes an issue as we age, leading to less chance of bone fractures, leading to fewer hospital stays with the attendant risks involved there)
    Increased cardiovascular health
    Weight loss (which in turn can increase health in many ways, including reduced risk of diabetes, heart disease, etc.)
    Less pollutants in the environment from decreased automobile usage, which benefits everyone
    Stress relief, and I don’t think the benefits of that can be overstated. Stress takes both a mental and physical toll on the body which can manifest in a variety of diseases

    If that’s not enough, I’m sure there is more information available from your own doctor, or on the Web.

    Happy cycling!

Leave a Reply

