At last

I guess the start of the Tour de France was finally enough inspiration for me to get off my arse and get on the bike. I haven’t been out riding in months, due to a really wet, cold spring up here, followed by a horrendous allergy season. But, with the start of the only sporting event I actually pay attention to I finally felt the need to get back out there myself and put some more miles on the bike.

It was a good day for a ride, not too cool, not too warm, but there was a little more wind than I was anticipating. I have lost a lot of strength and speed from not riding for so long. The course I took today is normally a 55-minute ride for me, but today it took an hour and fifteen minutes. Wow, that’s slow. I admit I didn’t push it too hard, thought I’d give my muscles a chance to remember what was happening. I got out early enough to beat most of the Saturday/holiday recreational traffic, and late enough to miss most of the fishermen who get on the road at the crack of dawn to try to surprise the fish.

People around here are mostly pretty courteous and considerate of cyclists, or at least they are towards me. I do make sure to wave a thank you when they wait before turning to let me go by first. Hopefully it’s helping to improve motorist/cyclist relations.

If only I’d remembered some money and my panniers, I had wanted to stop at a berry farm and get some fresh strawberries or something. Maybe if they’re open next week, and I can actually sit on the saddle again…

Looks like Fabian Cancellara won the prologue today in Rotterdam. I am without cable so I’ll be relying on various Web sites for news of le Tour. Lance finished 4th.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At last

  1. bikinginla says:

    Sans cable? What is this, the Dark Ages?

    No seriously, maybe this will help: http://www.cyclelicio.us/2010/free-live-video-tour-de-france-2010

  2. Digital Dame says:

    It’s called ‘poverty.’ I’m also still on a dial-up internet connection.

  3. Tim says:

    Cancellara rode a brilliant rologue, as he always seems to. That makes it wins in 2004, 2007, 2009 & now 2010 (and there was no prologue in 2008, so he has effectively won three in a row). I loved the way he wore his number 13 upside down for luck, just as he did when winning the Prologue in London in 2007.

    http://thearmchairsportsfan.wordpress.com/2010/07/04/lucky-13-for-cancellara-as-wiggins-gamble-backfires/

    I would welcome any thoughts and comments you may have!

Leave a Reply

