Riding Season Beginneth

I got out for my second bike ride of 2009 yesterday, just under 14 miles, in a little over an hour.  First ride was February 7.

Didn’t seem to matter which direction I was headed in yesterday, it was into a headwind the whole time. I guess March was getting a jump-start on coming in like a lion. Not too strong of a wind, but enough to feel it. I’ve definitely got a ways to go before I start the bike commute to work again once it’s light enough in the mornings. And warm enough. I’m still not really outfitted for riding in the 20s and 30s and days typically start off in the 20s at the time I’d be leaving my house. Forties I can probably survive, although yesterday it was 50-ish, and even with the arm warmers under the windproof shell I was never overly warm.  The muscles are definitely out of tune, I am so not ready for those hills I have to face on the commute. I’m still jogging with my friend at work which I’m sure helps to a degree, but it’s really different muscles that are called upon. Guess I’m paying the price for being a slug all winter. But it did feel good to be out there, nonetheless.

We’re expecting rain most of this coming week so I don’t expect I’ll be able to get out there again until next weekend. Even if I had fenders on it I’m still too protective of my pretty bike to want to muck it up riding in the rain! My cycling mentor at work keeps asking when I’m going to start riding again. :/ He’ll ride in all kinds of weather, all year round. Even yesterday, he was planning to head out for a “quick 25-mile ride” before catching a plane to Sedona, AZ for the week later in the day. He didn’t mention what his wife thought of that.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Riding Season Beginneth

  1. jglane says:

    Kudos to you for biking to work when you’re able to. I’m not in a bike-friendly city (I see people doing it, but they’re far braver than I) so I’ve never tried. The organization to bike to work — briefcase, tools, work clothing, etc., impresses me.

    Spring is arriving here and I’m looking forward to morning or afternoon walks to keep up with what’s going on in the neighborhood.

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Well, it does take some logistical planning to bike to work. I love riding so much though, that for me it’s a way to work in 2 hours a day on the bike (one going, one coming). And I just think about all those lovely calories I’m burning off!

  3. welshcyclist says:

    Come on now, get out in the rain, like me, you’ll just love it, and the bike will get over it, with a bit of TLC. Seriously, some of my best commutes have been in downpours.

  4. Digital Dame says:

    Ha! 🙂 I know, I’m such a wuss. I don’t mind jogging in the rain, although the other day my running partner and I got caught in a hail storm. That was no fun. We (as a society) are so accustomed to being insulated from the elements, but I have discovered that some days it feels so good just to walk outside and feel a good bracing wind. We forget it’s not so terrible to encounter nature. Do you have good rain gear to ride in? That stuff can be pretty expensive over here.

  5. welshcyclist says:

    Wait till you try cycling in a good rainstorm, then you feel part of nature. No, I don’t have very good rainwear, occasionally I’ve been soaked through by the end of my commute, but I work 12 hour shifts, and have facilities adequate to dry it all before the return trip. Only ice on the roads stops me from commuting these days, the last two in fact, as the weather turned very wintery. Guess what? The forecast is for rain tomorrow, so I’ll be back in the saddle and raring to go, can’t wait.

  6. Digital Dame says:

    Awesome, truly. 🙂 You da man! lol Let’s hope the worst of the wintery stuff is behind all of us now. You have a really long commute, too, don’t you?

  7. Nick says:

    It’s an odd thing about cycling during Winter and early Spring; whichever direction you go in there’s always a headwind.

  8. welshcyclist says:

    I’m still getting used to it, been commuting the whole 40 mile round trip for quite some time now, I think it was las June/July I started, after a long spell of increasing my part-commute bit by bit. Sure I get tired now and then, but I’m hooked.

  9. Digital Dame says:

    Hi Nick,

    Too true! Since I just started biking again last May, I’d forgotten what the real world is like outside the car.

  10. Digital Dame says:

    welshcyclist, I am envious. I only do a partial bike commute when I do ride, it ends up being about 27 miles roundtrip. I’m so slow though that it takes me about an hour each way. I can’t imagine doing 4 hours on the bike each day were I to ride the entire 48 miles (when I drive/ride, it actually lengthens the commute because of where I have to park the car).

  11. welshcyclist says:

    That’s not slow in my book, until recently, my roundtrip took 3 hours, now I’m roughly 2 hours 20 minutes for the whole 40 miles.

  12. Digital Dame says:

    An hour each way for me is only 13 1/2 miles, so my pace is just over 12 mph. Not exactly screaming 😉 I need to get a cyclocomputer so I can see what my average speed is. Downhills of course I can hit about 25 mph, but then there’s always the UPhill… I probably average more like 3 mph going up!

  13. welshcyclist says:

    I’m no fan of hills, I just put up with them, which demands alot of practise, as Wales is considered a hilly part of the world. By the way, I had a fantastic commute home this a.m., got soaked to the skin, but what a ride!

Leave a Reply

