Ah that pioneer spirit

For those who have ridden their bikes on ice, you may be able to identify with this:

Portland Ice Bike, photo by Patrick Barber

Portland Ice Bike, photo by Patrick Barber

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. Currently prepping a vampire novel for submission. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ah that pioneer spirit

  1. I am totally on board with this, I see the bikers out there, and freak out that their back wheels will flip out and I’ll end up running over their heads…Pop

  2. Digital Dame says:

    It’s hard to tell in the picture but I think he’s also got studded tires on the bike, an absolute must for riding on ice.

  3. Les says:

    Crazy! Up here in Ottawa, they just bike without the “training wheels”.

  4. Digital Dame says:

    Hi Les!

    I thought the skis were funny, on that tiny little bike. I bet he got a lot of laughs for that. 🙂 It’s a first, never seen that before.

    Do you put studded tires on yours and Helen’s bikes in the winter?

  5. Les says:

    Ha! We refrain from cycling at this time of year. There is simply too much snow and ice. It’s been a stretch for many people in Ottawa as there was a very long transit strike that forced many riders out on their bikes. Unfortunately it is just too dangerous (IMHO) to cycle here in the winter. The bike paths are not cleared. So you are left with the public roads.

  6. Digital Dame says:

    I understand. I’m not quite that hardcore about biking myself. I thought about it when we were snowed in briefly (for about a week) and there was no way I could get my car out since they don’t clear the roads here, but thinking about it was as far as it went 😉

  7. Digital Dame says:

    Les, I saw that post on your blog, yikes! That’s too much for me to try biking in.

Leave a Reply

