NaNoWriMo

I may be kind of quiet on this blog for the next month. For some inexplicable reason, I have signed up for NaNoWriMo this year, and will (with a great deal of luck) be expending my energy on that, churning out what will likely be complete drivel to the tune of 50,000 words over the course of November. I don’t know how much cycling I’m likely to get in, as the days get shorter and the rains begin in earnest. So that’s where I’ll likely be spending most of my free time, and will probably be posting updates as the spirit moves me over on my other blog, Filling Spaces. If you are also demented enough to be participating in this month-long exercise, please stop by and chat, or friend me on NaNo, Digital Dame.

For the artsy types out there, I ran across a similar adventure with you in mind, Art Every Day Month. It’s not organized to the level NaNoWriMo is, but NaNo is in its tenth year now, and AEDM seems to be a new venture. Sure, I know, just what you need, something else to do.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. Currently prepping a vampire novel for submission. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in Writing & Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NaNoWriMo

  1. Jennie says:

    Hi,

    My Dad directed me here (JustWilliams) when he told me that you are taking part in NaNoWriMo. I did it two years ago and finished in time, but last year life got in the way and I never got past the first page of the manuscript! I’m hoping that I’ll get further along at this attempt, although any help and support would be good!

    Best wishes,

    Jennie

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Hi Jennie!

    I’m so excited, yay! How’s it going today? Hit the 1667 yet? I hit 1732 words right around 2:00 my time. I just hope I can maintain the momentum. Please “friend” me (or whatever it is they call it) on the NaNo site, I use the Digital Dame moniker there as well. I’ll e-mail you so you have my regular e-mail addy as well. Feel free to keep in touch during the day. I kept trailing off, and then I’d remind myself I’m not going for a Pulitzer here, just crank the words out and I got there. I’m sure it’s complete drivel but I refuse to go back and edit/revise/critique a syllable at this point. That’s for next month!

  3. Jennie says:

    I’ve only written 700 words so far, but then I was at work all day and only decided to take part after dinner this evening! It’s even a competely different plotline to the one I intended, so I’ve got no plans and not very much in my head to base it on!

    I’m hoping to catch up tomorrow, but we have our first NaNo meet up at lunchtime, which will take out valuable writing time! However, perhaps I can use the bus journey to try to make notes about the plot, give myself a plan to follow!

  4. Digital Dame says:

    Yikes! Talk about seat-of-your-pants! 🙂 That’s all right, 700 words on the spur of the moment like that is nothing to sneeze at. Typically I struggle to get 500 words a day, so I’d say you’re off to a good start anyway.

    I don’t know if I’ll be attending any meet-ups, like you said, it takes away valuable writing time. But then I’m sure it can be very inspiring to talk with others in real life about this. I didn’t get my word count today in one sitting, it took me on and off all since about 9:00 a.m. I kind of work piecemeal, which may be in my favor during the week when I’m at work and can’t devote large blocks of time to it. I’m thinking my lunch hour will largely be given over to writing for the month.

  5. janflora says:

    Thanks for the pep-talk 🙂 I did manage to catch up a bit more, but my word-count widget is being difficult. I will be adding you on NaNo! I can use all the writing buddies I can get! The server has been a bit overworked so I have lost a couple notes I have tried sending, but I promise to send some love soon.
    I was going to try to meet up with some local WriMos this w-end, though I have distance and time issues plus some lingering social anxiety, but so far I have enjoyed the online NaNo community so much, I think it may be a good move for me to rub elbows irl. Only thing is, it is a Write-in and i do not sport a laptop, so really I am better off here at my desk with my 12 y.o. huffing and puffing behind me b/c he can’t play games. [heehee] Write on!

  6. Digital Dame says:

    I’m with you on the meet-ups, I’ve always been shy. I also feel like I don’t want to give up the writing time, because I don’t own a laptop either so it wouldn’t be real productive time. But, I do like the feeling of community and I’m sure it would be great to get to know other writers (published or otherwise). Glad to hear you made some headway!

Leave a Reply

