More Creepy Goodness

Might as well stick with the Halloween theme, since I haven’t been doing any biking since I got sick last week.

I found this article on haunted lighthouses. Everybody loves lighthouses anyway, although I have to say the older styles are much more aesthetically pleasing. I found some photos online of some lighthouses in Japan, which seem to be quite modern in design, and in use by their military (maybe that’s why they were so ugly.) They looked more like traffic control towers. The only one of the lighthouses mentioned in the article at Coastal Living that I have been to is Heceta Head on the Oregon coast, and I can tell you the view is breathtaking. I took this photo when I was out there a few years ago:

(Click on the photo to enlarge). The lightkeeper’s house is on the right, a short walk from the actual lighthouse. The rocks below were covered with sea lions sunning themselves, it was a very mild March day. The photo is not the greatest, this was before I had a digital camera and had to scan in a photo. We didn’t actually have time to go into the lighthouse (not sure if it was open that day). I know someone who did in fact get engaged out there, so they’re not making it up in the article about how romantic it is. I didn’t know at the time that it was haunted, but Rue sounds like a very pleasant ghost to have around if she’s willing to sweep up messes for people.

There are plenty of other haunted lighthouses, some of which you can find on Haunted Lighthouses.

Happy Hauntings!

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in history, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

