The End of Riding Season?

Looks like the rains are beginning. It’s pretty dreary out there today, although it hasn’t been too bad earlier this week. Unfortunately I came down with a pretty severe cold Monday night, which put the kibosh on my plans to ride into work on Tuesday. I spent most of Monday evening getting everything ready: packed the panniers, cleaned and lubed the bike chain, got the rack on the car for the morning.  Dangit, I really wanted a chance to test out those new gloves I bought.  I managed to make it in to work for half the day, but had to drive. I’m still home sick now after trying to tough it out again yesterday but only lasting half the day again. So obviously no riding this week.

So now that we’re officially into flu season, you may be thinking I should hustle in for a flu shot. Nuthin’ doing. I never get them, and haven’t had the flu since… well, I can’t remember the last time I had an actual flu infection. 1990? Year after year now we get reports of how ineffective the vaccines are, I see no point in letting anyone inject me with unknown substances. It seems to be particularly ineffective for small children. Here’s an excerpt from an article in U.S. News & World Report on how little good they do in young children:

However, after they adjusted for flu risk factors — such as a child’s location, sex, insurance status, chronic health conditions or timing of the vaccine — the effectiveness of the vaccine could no longer be shown. The effectiveness of the flu shot ranged from 7 percent to 52 percent for 6- to 59-month-old children who had been fully vaccinated, the researchers found.

An article in the New York Times on September 8, 2008 also calls into question the efficacy of the shots in those over 70:

A growing number of immunologists and epidemiologists say the vaccine probably does not work very well for people over 70, the group that accounts for three-fourths of all flu deaths.

Kinda makes you wonder who’s scratching whose back.

As for riding, I guess I will be hoping for some decent weekend days to get out and ride.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

