Slacker week

I didn’t ride at all this week, but I content myself with having run the 5K in the Komen Race for the Cure on Sunday. A former co-worker was diagnosed with breast cancer about a year and a half ago, and luckily is still with us even though it was apparently in an advanced stage when it was found. She got the diagnosis about a week before starting a new job. A large group of us walked in the Race with her last year (Mary had been through two rounds of chemo and the surgery by this point), and I had hoped to see her there again this year. However, as things seldom go as planned, after doing the run with another co-worker, we were unable to connect with Mary. By the time we reached her by cellphone, she was already on the east side of Portland having brunch with her parents. Not quite sure how they pulled that off. Judy and I headed off for brunch on our own then and ended up at a place she knew which turned out to be really good, Meriwether’s in NW Portland. We sat at the bar rather than wait for a table and were well-attended to by possibly the friendliest, most pleasant bar tender I have ever seen.

Other than that, Judy and I ran again on Tuesday, but that was the only activity I managed to get in this week.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in Activism, suburban living, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slacker week

  1. maryjblog says:

    So glad to hear that Mary is doing well!

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Thanks, I only wish I’d been able to see her. She hosted a “One Year and I’m Still Here!” party back in April, but my car died the day of the party and I missed that too! I was told by another woman who did walk with her that her hair is growing in well, and she’s her usual self, quite the sparkplug 😉

Leave a Reply

