Halloween Shopping (and I want my $8 back) ;)

A shameless plug here. Yesterday I was surfing the net and found this beauty at Costume Shopper. I’d been looking for a really good raven for a number of years now with no success. Most of them are quite small, and look more like a crow than a raven (and yes, I realize most people wouldn’t have any idea what the difference is). Anyway, I found this big boy and after debating about spending $14 for a Halloween decoration ($10 for some cheesy item from Target is usually my limit) I decided to order him. I knew if I didn’t I’d kick myself later when I couldn’t remember where I’d seen him on the Web.

So this morning I got my confirmation e-mail for my order, and way down at the bottom they said (and I quote)

Have a Blog? Want Free Shipping?

Help us get the word out about our website, and we’ll reward you with FREE ground shipping. If you have a blog, simply blog about us AND include a link to any of our product web pages, and we will deduct the ground shipping charge from your order!

Remember, the link does not have to be to the home page. If you saw a particular item that was worth letting people know about, you can link there if you’d like.

Now that’s a first, never seen that before so I’m happy to oblige. Anyway, shipping charges being what they are, it sure took some of the sting out of it. I only sprang for ground shipping anyway.

If you do any shopping at this site, be aware that ALL SALES ARE FINAL. I guess a lot of people buy costumes to use for the one night, then try to return them. I can see why they don’t want to take them back, but something like this ought to be returnable if it arrives damaged or not as they represent it on the site. Accordingly, when it arrives, I will take a photo and post it here, along with a review of the quality. I think that’s only fair. OH, and they’re in Jackson, NJ! My grandmother’s house was in Jackson, I have many memories of that house.

UPDATE: On Saturday I received an e-mail from the company thanking me for the blog mention and letting me know my shipping charges would be taken off my order.

UPDATE 10/1:  Bummer. I got a cancellation e-mail last night for my raven order. It seems their supplier is out of stock on them with no estimated date of arrival for more. Phooey. I was wondering what was taking so long. So, the search goes on for a raven decoration.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. Currently prepping a vampire novel for submission. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Halloween Shopping (and I want my $8 back) ;)

  1. amsterdamize says:

    Now that’s a great offer and smart thinking. Instant word of mouth, brilliant.

    PS. I quickly uploaded a screenshot from one of my videos to let you see in detail what it looks like. You turn the key on the left side, then pull the lever on the right all the way down to execute the actual (enforced steel) circular bar, then turn the key back and pull it out.

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Very unique idea, as far as I know. And they were so quick to respond, I was impressed. Since the shipping charges (for just the one item) were more than half the cost of the raven, I was really happy not to have to pay it!

    Thanks for that photo, Marc. What an excellent idea those locks are. Any added bit of security can only help.

  3. amsterdamize says:

    indeed unique, as in all my professional (web) career, I’ve never seen a company do exactly that.

    You’re very welcome. One example of never changing a winning concept. I always trust a wheel lock. The most hated item by thiefs (an ex-thief, who now sells the homeless newspaper, told me).

  4. maryjblog says:

    the raven’s excellent – very Addams Family – but I also love that when you click the link, you get to see their plastic fake butt on the r.h. side of the screen …

  5. Digital Dame says:

    Hahaha, yeah, that is about the weirdest thing! I like the Addams Family look vs. a “Nightmare on Elm St.” thing with bloody body parts. Just creepy without being gory is more my style.

Leave a Reply

