Note to self: Bears and Bikes are a bad combination

So Yahoo! had this on it’s “Odd News” section today:

“A middle school teacher suffered some bruising and big scratch on his back after he struck a bear while riding his bicycle to school.”

What I really want to know is, was he doing 25mph UPHILL? (I think you all know how much I hate hills). I saw a deer the other day riding in to work, she was just leaping through the field as I rode by. I called out “good morning!” and she stopped and looked at me. That was a close-enough-encounter for me. Sure wish I’d had my camera, though.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. Currently prepping a vampire novel for submission. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Note to self: Bears and Bikes are a bad combination

  1. maryjblog says:

    I had a close encounter with a doe and her baby, a few weeks ago on Block Island. The mother came charging thru the hedges of the B & B where we were staying, and disappeared into the yard next door. A minute later, the little one showed up, looking kinda lost – I tried to point it in the right direction but it didn’t seem to understand my gesturing and I didn’t want to get too close. Poor thing – did you know that the little deer make a bleating noise, almost just like a lamb?

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Wow, yeah, you don’t want them to think you intend the baby any harm. I did not know they made that sound, just tugs at your heartstrings. As if they’re not the cutest things alive anyway!

Leave a Reply

