A Brief Diversion

I’m not going to go all political, despite the upcoming elections and all the shenanigans that are already ensuing, but I ran across an opinion piece on Sarah Palin and thought it was particularly well-written. Ted Rall’s Sarah Palin: Queen of the Nobodies sums up for me what I feel about this woman. Or at least the most polite bits of it. Make no mistake, I am not enthralled with any of the choices I am faced with this election year, but this is taking on a very surreal quality. Have we entered “The Twilight Zone”? Watching McCain on tv last night I got the distinct impression of a wax figure. He doesn’t look real anymore. He’s either botox’d up to there, had a bad facelift, or really is that pasty white and plastic-looking. I was very frightened.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Brief Diversion

  1. metaljaybird says:

    I read the article, though I’m not supporting McCain and Palin, I do feel he has his facts all wrong. IE., Palin’s daughter was known to be pregnant throughout the entire town, there was no cover up on their part.

    Also, I would argue that a governor of a state that pretty much shares a border with Russia has to deal with some big deciding factors.

    I like Palin, I don’t like McCain, and I don’t think Obama is smart enough for the job (he carries his teleprompter around like a teddy bear), but I don’t think either of the 3 (Biden doesn’t count) has what it takes to properly administer our nation.

    My 3 favorite examples of a good president are: Jefferson, Madison, and Reagan.

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Well, I can’t agree with you there. I think Palin is a complete idiot, and knows zip about foreign policy even if she can see a remote Russian island from the very tip of Alaska. I don’t really think that qualifies as “sharing a border” with them. Now with their stonewalling of the “Troopergate” investigation, she’s more than backpedaling on her rallying cry of “transparency” and “hold me accountable”.

  3. metaljaybird says:

    I have to politely disagree. I think a governor sharing a border with two nations certainly has more exposure to foreign relations than a community organizer.

    Then again, both don’t have a lot of experience, and Biden is too insider, while McCain is too old.

    We’ll see how troopergate pans out, but at first hand, it seems like its media’s attempt at grasping at straws.

    Question: Why don’t we hear of former colleagues of Obama’s? Like from Harvard? Or schoolmates? Where are his compatriots when he was a community organizer? Does it not seem like he appeared out of thin air?

    I would just be careful with Obama. While he may have charisma, he seems to lack depth.

    Then again, I’m not voting for either parties as both parties will typically give us the same result: More war, less money, and more aggravation (See local NJ politics).

  4. Digital Dame says:

    If only proximity guaranteed knowledge, direct contact, and foreign policy understanding. She has never dealt with any heads-of-state, never even met one. On that basis alone, Katie Couric beats her hands down. She’s a nightmare for women’s rights, the environment, supports aerial hunting of wolves, and the real nail in the coffin for me is she’s an “End Times” Creationist. That alone would have been enough for me to dismiss her as qualified. Anyone who thinks the world is 6000 years old and modern man shared space with dinosaurs lacks critical thinking skills. I think the “Troopergate” is a good deal more than “grasping at straws”, if you follow news coming from AK (check Mudflats). The woman filed suit against herself to try to stop the investigation… If there’s nothing to it, why not just go through with and cooperate with the investigation?

    I have no idea about Obama’s “charisma”, I’m certainly no Obamabot. When it comes down to it, they’re all politicians, but I find Obama less objectionable. Not much of an endorsement, perhaps.

  5. mjb says:

    Anyone who thinks the world is 6000 years old and modern man shared space with dinosaurs lacks critical thinking skills.

    I guess I lack critical thinking skills. I won’t go into too much detail, but I’m certainly a creationist.

  6. mjb says:

    When it comes down to it, politicians in general are very aggravating. They say one thing, and do another thing. Honestly, I don’t understand how “right wing Christians” could support these illegal wars.

    I hope you have a good weekend, and get some epic rides in.

  7. Digital Dame says:

    Thanks, MJB, likewise. Doesn’t look like a riding weekend for me, I’m running in the Race for the Cure this Sunday so I think that’ll be enough exercise for me! At least I rode to work yesterday. Not getting any faster, but the hills don’t seem quite so daunting! A teensy bit of progress, I guess.

  8. metaljaybird says:

    Good luck! That reminds me, I was riding home on Wednesday, and a lady stopped me for directions to a local tavern. She then mentioned she had ridden a century all weekend to benefit MS victims. Very cool.

  9. Digital Dame says:

    Wow, I’m in awe of anyone who rides a Century! I’d like to work up to that for next year, maybe. I’m only doing the 5K run, so it’s not that big of a deal. I started running with a co-worker last summer using a program called “Couch-to-5K” so we’ve done it lots of times. We’re doing the run first, then meeting a cancer survivor friend to walk the 5K with her. I’ll be lucky if I have enough energy to step on the gas to drive home after that! 🙂

  10. metaljaybird says:

    🙂 haha. Too bad cars didn’t come with autodrive.

Leave a Reply

