Book Suggestion

Living in the Portland area gives me access to the center of the known universe, aka Powell’s Books. This is a vast repository of new and used books, actually in several locations around town and out into the ‘burbs even. The city location is so big you need a map when you go in to find your way around. The place occupies an entire city block (eat your hearts out, booklovers!).

Anyway, I subscribe to their newsletter, and get book reviews sent to my e-mail. I found this yesterday, “Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do (And What it Says About Us)” by Tom Vanderbilt, review by Edward L. Glaeser.

Traffic book cover

Traffic book cover

Since we’ve been talking about bike commuting, driving, city design and so on, I thought it sounded interesting. I haven’t actually picked it up yet, but I’m definitely adding it to my reading list.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in history, suburban living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

