Going for a bike ride? Check the Web first

Ok, boys and girls, the Web is starting to take notice of us. I like to post links to useful articles, because the link will vanish off the original host’s front page fairly quickly. It’s still going to be awhile before it’s really useful, but Google and MapQuest are looking to map biking and walking routes. There are also bikely.com, and mapmyride.com. These work for the US, but I haven’t tried mapping other parts of the globe. If you do, please do post a note and let me know what kind of success you have with them.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. Currently prepping a vampire novel for submission. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Going for a bike ride? Check the Web first

  1. Scott says:

    MapMyRide is great! I have been using it for a couple of months now to figure out the distance of my rides and to log my mileage.

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Hi Scott,

    Thanks for coming by and your comment. I do the same thing, since I don’t have a cyclocomputer yet to track my mileage as I ride. Someday… It’s also good to plan out new routes to take, gives me ideas for new places to ride.

    It’s been kind of expensive buying the bike and the gear I have so far so some things have had to wait.

  3. Les says:

    I use bikemap.net. It is not the best. But it does allow one to embed a route into a web page. I find that very useful on our BLOG.

  4. Digital Dame says:

    I saw that, that’s very cool. I’ll have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

