1 World, 2 Wheels

I found out yesterday that Trek bikes is giving away a bike a day from July 17 – August 31. The promo is called 1 World 2 Wheels. It seems aimed at encouraging people to ride, specifically for short trips from home of 1 – 2 miles.  This is apparently when your car produces most of it’s pollutants, before the pollution control devices really kick in. I had never really thought about that, although I guess I’m not surprised. Before I take my car in for the smog check for registration (we do that every two years here in the Portland metro area) they tell you to drive around for at least 1/2 an hour before going through the test to give the engine sufficient time to warm up (something to do with the oxygen sensor).

Anyway, Trek has some great statistics and info on the “Get Involved” page that I highly encourage everyone to read. The “How to Go By Bike” page has tips on getting started, and if you don’t find what you’re looking for, if you have a question they haven’t covered there is a link to e-mail them. Since my concern of doing the half drive/half bike commute concerns where to park my car for the day, I thought I’d ask them and see if anyone at Trek had run into a similar situation. I sent in the question, and sort of half expected a canned answer back in a week, but lo and behold when I got home last night, I had a lengthy, detailed e-mail from someone at Trek that addressed all of the concerns I mentioned in my e-mail. No real definitive answer, but she encouraged me to contact the homeowners along the route I’ll be taking and seemed confident that folks would be willing to aid me in my quest. And I didn’t even mention that I’m already a Trek-owner. I haven’t actually signed up for the challenge, I don’t really need the bike and they might as well give it to someone who really does. There are also a number of links to biking organizations worth checking out.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

