Country Ride

Along Hwy 219

Along Hwy 219

I have a favorite route I take on my bike now on weekends, the 13-mile roundtrip out to the farmlands, and past a local winery. I was struck the first time I went out at how pretty it really is out there, which surprised me because I’ve been driving past most of it for years. Somehow going by on a bike at a slower pace you really notice things, you have the time to see it up-close. It took me longer than usual to ride it today since I decided to take my camera and take some photos of the scenery as I went along. Honestly, it was hard to keep moving, I just wanted to keep taking photos. If I could walk it I’d photograph all of it, it’s really pretty out here. I pass Oak Knoll winery,
Oak Knoll Winery

Oak Knoll Winery

and an old cemetery that dates back to the days of the pioneers, Lewis Pioneer Cemetery
Lewis Pioneer Cemetery new sign

Lewis Pioneer Cemetery new sign

. I don’t know if the public is allowed to go in and look at the gravestones, I’ll have to look into that. The cemetery is pretty much the crest of one hill, and the downside of it is a blast to ride in high gear, as fast as I can go. One day two goldfinches flew alongside me in the field, like they were pacing me! It was really cute, I wish I knew how fast I’d been going.
Where I rode with the goldfinches

Where I rode with the goldfinches

. After I hit the top of Burkhalter, I take a left onto Rood Bridge Road, where just a few feet up on the right is this old church
dilapidated old church

dilapidated old church

. I don’t know anything about it, but isn’t there something fascinating about run-down old buildings? I always wonder what they looked like when they were new, who went there, were there weddings here, baptisms, and so on?

Last weekend as I got close to the golf course that I pass, a killdeer flew out over the road above me, apparently trying to warn me off. As I kept going I saw why: one of her babies was out running into the road and I came very close to hitting the little guy! I saw no signs of smushed baby bird when I went by today, so I assume the little dude made it out of the road before any cars came by.

Rood Bridge Road

Rood Bridge Road

I could have taken a million more photos, of wildflowers along the side of the road, panoramic shots, cows in fields, horses, birds, farm fields. I wish I would have gotten this bike years ago. Remember how much fun biking was when you were a kid? Riding all over town, blasting down hills, the freedom you felt at being able to propel yourself wherever you wanted to go? You know what? It’s still fun!

A couple more gratuitous photos from the ride:

Farm fields along Hwy 219

Farm fields along Hwy 219

Oak tree in the cemetery

Oak tree in the cemetery

Alpacas on Burkhalter Road

Alpacas on Burkhalter Road

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Country Ride

  1. justwilliams says:

    Very interesting blog, including this post – though I haven,t read enough to work out where you are yet. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

