Biking: Not for the Faint of Heart

This is a corker. It seems Sweden is determined to get people out of their cars. I found this article on a town in Sweden that was giving away a bicycle to the person with the most ridiculous commute (i.e., too short to drive, but they drive anyway). Now, okay, I can appreciate that the winters in Sweden are more severe than here in the great Northwet, but good grief. And with the gas prices they pay (I believe it’s upwards of $10/gal now) you’d think this guy would’ve walked. My Viking ancestors would be spinning in their graves like turbines to hear their descendants were this wussy. (Just to clarify, I’m Norwegian, not Swedish).

I was actually researching getting fenders for my bike this morning. It may be July but here in western Oregon it’s raining again. I lucked out yesterday and got what yardwork I was able to done before being driven inside by my allergies, when I heard what I incredulously thought was rain after I showered all the pollen off. Sure enough, no sooner did I get done than the rain started. It didn’t amount to much, but it’s wet out again today, and I haven’t been on my bike for a week now. ::::snarl:::: Time to get outfitted for this weather. I did get a little road splatter a couple weeks ago when I was out riding past some construction where they had wetted the road down for some reason. I was so not happy to find mud on my shiny new toy. More than that, though, I’ve been reading about the damage the grit and grime, oil and gasoline residue can inflict on bearings and such. So, time for fenders I think.

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in bicycling, bike commuting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

