16 Tons

Some days it is so hard to sit at my desk at work, and just force myself to stay here. I want to get up and run away, run outside, go do something that feels useful, creative. I have projects at home I’d like to work on, others I’d like to start, and there’s just not enough time. I don’t feel useful here. I’m like a babysitter, or den mother. I do all the little crappy things that no one else will do (arrange catering, shipping, order supplies). We have people leaving, so I’m picking up tasks that I don’t want, spreadsheets and charts and Access database stuff that I’m not really qualified to do. I just keep wondering if it’s time to move on. I know no job is perfect, and this is better than the last place, much much better. My boss is great, if it wasn’t for him I think I would have bailed by now. But now with all the new duties I’m taking on, my chain of command is becoming a little muddled. The woman I’m taking stuff over from worked for other people, and now I think those guys will assume I work for them. Maybe if this was a high-level “career” kind of position it might be worth fighting over. But at this level I’m mostly disposable, if I grumble about stuff or try to affect things, they will most likely just replace me.

I just wonder how many people are truly happy in their jobs? Another woman who works here is looking, actively, for another job. She’s fed up with her boss and the way she’s treated. Is it too much to expect to want to be treated with some respect?

About D. D. Syrdal

Writer of vampire stories and science fiction. First novel, "Revenants Abroad", available now at Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, Kobo.com, Smashwords. If you like a vampire you can go out drinking with and still respect yourself in the morning, I think you'd like Andrej.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

